The Indiana Constitution directs that the State be divided into several circuits by the General Assembly. Of the 92 counties in Indiana, 88 have circuit courts. The remaining four counties are divided into joint circuit courts of two counties each. There are 102 circuit court judges in the State of Indiana.

The Circuit Courts are vested with unlimited trial jurisdiction in all cases, except where exclusive or concurrent jurisdiction is conferred upon other courts. Circuit Courts also have appellate jurisdiction over appeals from city and town courts.

Superior Courts are created by statutes enacted by the General Assembly. Though their jurisdiction may vary from county to county, for the most part they are courts of general jurisdiction.

City and Town Courts may be created by local ordinance. Their jurisdiction is very limited, usually limited to city ordinance violations, infractions and misdemeanors.

Contact Us

Newton County Courthouse
201 N 3rd St
Kentland, IN 47951
Get Directions  |  Location/Facility Details