Treasurer's Office

A 5% penalty will be applied to any tax payment postmarked or paid via credit card after May 10th. After June 10th, an additional 5% will be applied. The penalties will show up on June 2nd. Please double check with the website or by calling our office to see if any additional money is due.

Newton County's 2021 Fall Property Taxes are due November 10, 2021.         (Remember you will only receive 1 tax bill for the year. Both Spring & Fall coupons are on statement.)

**At this time, payments can be made in several ways**

  • DROP BOX - 24-hour outdoor dropbox located by the handicap entrance on the west side of the Courthouse;
  • MAIL PAYMENT - 201 N. Third St, Kentland, IN 47951 - Must be Postal Service postmarked by May 10, 2021. (Enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope if you would like a receipt)
  • LOCAL BANKS - Please make sure to have your payment coupon when paying at any of these branches: Kentland Bank (Kentland, Lake Village and Roselawn Branches), Fowler State Bank (Kentland Branch), DeMotte State Bank (Morocco Branch), Community State Bank (Brook), First Financial (Goodland Branch)
  • PAY BY PHONE - 1-888-604-7888 for GovPayNow or 219-474-6081 ext. 1300 for Treasurer's Office.
  • ONLINE - Click link below or go to
  • IN OUR OFFICE located at 201 N. Third St., Kentland - Hours are 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. CST Monday thru Friday.

The Treasurer's Office accepts payments of any amount to be applied to the taxpayers parcel at any time during the tax year in the Treasurer's Office or online. Click here - Online payments. The Pay Location for our County is #7819. The TID number is your duplicate number or parcel number, located on the top of your remittance coupon. You can pay for up to 5 parcels at one time. Service Fees will apply for online or phone payments.

**A drop box for property tax payments has been installed and is located on the west side of the Courthouse, by the handicap entrance. Please include a self-addressed stamped envelope with your payment and coupon if you want a receipt mailed to you.**

If your taxes are escrowed, it will say "Informational" across the remittance coupons and is for your information only and doesn't need to be paid by you.

If any circumstances have changed that would make you ineligible for a deduction (located in Table 5 of your statement), please contact the Auditor's Office.

The Treasurer's Office is a constitutional office that requires and election every four years. The position is limited to two terms in 12 years. The Treasurer is responsible for balancing all banking transactions of the County; making deposits, transferring funds, investment of funds, ensuring that all County funds are in balance.

The responsibilities include: Collection of property taxes (real estate-personal-mobile home); issue mobile home moving permits and verify taxes for alcohol beverage permits; prepare annual real estate tax sale and collection of delinquent personal property taxes and judgments; prepare lender list of mortgage companies; verify public employees taxes and collection of any delinquent taxes.

The offices of the Assessor, Auditor and Treasurer must work closely together. Taxpayers are encouraged to use information provided by all of these offices on the county government website.

If you do not find the answers you are looking for, or feel there is a problem with your tax bill, please reach out to us at 1-888-663-9866 ext. 1300 or stop in the Treasurer's Office and we will do our best to assist you.

Jenni Swartz


Contact Us

Treasurer's Office
201 N 3rd St
Kentland, IN 47951
Get Directions  |  Location/Facility Details

  • Phone: (888) 663-9866 x 1300
  • Fax: (219) 474-9245
  • Staff Directory
  • Office Hours:
    Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

Topics of Interest